About Us

Nestled in the hills of the North Carolina Piedmont, Orange County is the perfect mix of all that North Carolina has to offer, a great place to live and to work. The Orange County lifestyle blends great outdoors with metropolitan culture, a wide variety of housing options and some of the nation’s best schools. From a business standpoint, the county is home to a diverse and highly educated workforce, several world-renowned research universities, and some of the world’s most respected companies in technology and health care. Orange County is a smart, innovative choice for both employers and employees.

The team at Orange County Economic Development (OCED) is highly skilled in all aspects of business development, from site selection and financing to customized market research.


The Orange County Economic Development team offers:

  •   Business expansion, retention and relocation assistance
  •   Small business and entrepreneur support
  •   Information on commercial and industrial space availability
  •   Customized research

If you’re looking to start, relocate or expand your business, look no further than Orange County. We offer the perfect mix – on both a professional and a personal level – and Orange County Economic Development is here to help you enjoy success in both.

Our Team

Amanda Garner

Assistant Director


Mike Ortosky

Agriculture Economic Developer


Lindsey Hirni

Administration Support


Advisory Board

The role of the Economic Development Advisory Board is to work cohesively with the County’s Economic Development staff and other economic development partners to position Orange County as a competitive location for business opportunities.

Meetings are held the third Wednesday; every other month at 12:00 p.m. Please contact the Orange County Economic Development Office for more information.

Advisory Board Members

Paige Zinn, Chair
John Morris, Vice Chair
Barbary Jessie-Black, Secretary
John Anderson
Anthony Carey
Jonna Foushee
Sharon Hill
Tom Procter
James Watts
Kristen Smith Young

Orange County Board of Commissioners

Orange County is governed by a seven-member board of commissioners, elected by district and at-large in partisan countywide elections. Commissioners serve four-year terms and elections are held in November of even-numbered years.
BOCC Members

Renee Price, Chair
Jamezetta Bedford, Vice Chair
Mark Dorosin
Amy Fowler
Sally Greene
Jean Hamilton
Earl McKee